Note: All applications, Attorney General Pamphlet, Sheriff's Addresses, etc. will be provided in class.
1. You must be 21 years old.
2. You must be an Ohio resident for 45 days.
3. You must be a resident of the county of application for 30.
4. You must read the Ohio Attorney General Pamplet.
5. Locate Sheriff's office in your county (or adjacent county).
6. Have a passport color photo (2"x2") taken within 30 days of applications.
Note: All applications, Kentucky guide, sheriff's addresses, etc. will be provided in class.
1. You must be 21 years old.
2. You must be a Kentucky resident for at least 6 months.
3. You must take class from a Kentucky certified instructor (You are here!).
4. Locate Sheriff's office in your county.
5. Have a passport color photo (2"x2") taken within 30 days of application.
6. Must pass written open book exam (given at the end of the class).
7. Must pass firing range proficiency (hit 11 out of 20 shots at 21 feet).
8. Submit application, state flash pak, photo and payment. $20 to the local sheriff and $40 check or money order to KY State Police.
- Not be under indictment for, or have been convicted of, a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year; and
- Not be a fugitive from justice; and
- Not be an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance; and
- Not have been adjudicated as a mental defective or have committed to a mental institution; and
- Not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions; and
- Not be subject to a domestic violence order or emergency protective order; and
- Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence (see section below for discussion of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence)
8. Not be prohibited from the purchase, receipt or possession of firearms, ammunition or both pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 922(g), 18 U.S.C. 922(n), or applicable state law
- Not have been committed to a state or federal facility for abuse of a controlled substance or convicted of a misdemeanor relating to a controlled substance within the three-year period immediately preceding the date the application was submitted
- Not owe a child support arrearage which equals or exceeds the cumulative amount which would be owed after one (1) year of nonpayment;
11. Other circumstances may prevent your obtaining a CCW License. Please contact an attorney if in doubt.
Kentucky and Ohio CCW Classes
- Locate a qualified Ohio CCW instructor (you are here!)
8. Must pass written open book exam (given at the end of the class).
9. Must pass firing range proficiency (given during class).
10. Submit application, certificate, fingerprints, phtoto and payment. $67 if Ohio resident for more than 5 years or $91 if Ohio resident for less than 5 years. Depending on county... Cashier's Check or Money Order. Some accept Cash. A few accept Credit Cards. None accept personal check.
OH CCW CHL
KY CCW CCDW